Tags

, , , ,

I just finished reading Dicey’s Song by Cynthia Voigt.  I would like to post a few quotes from chapter 7:

“‘….I got to thinking-when it was too late-you have to reach out to people.  To your family too.  You can’t just let them sit there, you should put your hand out.  If they slap it back, well you reach out again if you care enough.  If you don’t care enough, you forget about them, if you can.  I don’t know, girl.'”

That was Dicey’s grandmother speaking to Dicey.

Now, on the next page:

“‘….And I’m sorry, the way it turned out.  Because somebody’s slapped your hand back good and hard.  But I don’t want you to stop reaching, just because it didn’t come out the way it should have.'”

That was still Dicey’s grandmother.

A bit further down that page she says:

“‘I took him-in the nature of an experiment.  You know? I wondered if I could.  I like him, don’t you?’

‘Sure,’ Dicey said.  ‘We all do.  But that’s why you told him how poor we are.’

‘You don’t go reaching out with your hand closed up,’  Gram said.  ‘It worked out all right this time.’

Dicey thought.

‘It took me so long to learn,’ Gram explained.  ‘I’d like you to have more of a head start.'”

 

I love when she says “you don’t go reaching out with your hand closed up.”  That’s the main reason I posted all this.  I had to post a bunch so it would make sense, but that part and the first part about reaching out is really what I wanted to quote.

Think about it.  Really think about it.  The more you do, the better it gets.

 

The quotes are all from chapter 7 of Dicey’s Song, by Cynthia Voigt.

