Tags

Sorry it’s been so long.  Right now I have a terrible cold, so since I’m laying it low I thought it would be a good time to write a post.

My mother and I are reading Newbery award books.  We just finished The Midwife’s Apprentice.  Before that we read The Witch of Blackbird pond.  They were both really good.

It’s very moist and warm here.  The sun isn’t really out though.  The colors are looking more November ish.

We are getting ready to butcher 4 of our chickens.  3 old hens and our very old rooster, who no longer does his job.  I’m thinking that out of this years chicks we have 2 roosters.  Danae and Pyrra.

School is not fun.  I only have one really close friend.  And she tends to not get much sleep, so she’s always really tired.

That’s what my life has been like.

I’m sorry I don’t have a new installment of my story.  I will post an essay I had to write for school though.

Question: How does the fast food jingle “you deserve a break today”  show the attitudes and values of our culture?

My answering essay:

It shows that in our American culture a lot of us don’t cook our own food.  We instead buy factory made “fresh” food.  Made buy factory workers, in other states, sometimes even in other countries.  We have come to value TV, nintendos, video games and phones.  Doing these things takes time away from making our own food.  So we come to depend more and more on fast foods, TV dinners, McDonald’s, frozen foods and ready made packaged foods.  It could be weeks, even months that these “foods” sit on the grocery store shelf before someone buys them.  What’s creepy is that these “foods” are still good and edible months after they were made.  The reason these “foods” stay good this long is because what the manufacturer puts in them: preservatives, BHT and TBHQ.  Basically these are chemicals so they stay “good” longer.

Like it?

